Listen to your favorite music from our licensed radio stations!   

Home Station Directory Radio Players  
Pricing & Signup Broadcaster's Area
 Navigation:
Home
 Listeners:
Station Directory
Radio Players
 Broadcasters:
Broadcasters Area
Pricing & Signup
F.A.Q.
Resource Partners
Tutorials
Community Forum
LoudCity Forum
Legal Info
Contact Us

Author Topic: When to Kick or Ban...?  (Read 2901 times)

TheDrunkenScoundrel

• View Profile
When to Kick or Ban...?
« on: August 04, 2016, 02:21:31 AM »
Hey Guys,
I am new to having detailed analytics.
I know from previous experience, that listeners who login and listen for extremely long periods aren't always Bots.
I have, in the past, listened to a station non-stop for a long time.
Those with much more experience might have a better feel for this:
What are the red-flags or thresholds were you actively seek to get listeners of your server/station?
Any thoughts or advice?

mrbill

• View Profile
Re: When to Kick or Ban...?
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2016, 11:04:14 AM »
I check my listener statistics for the previous day every morning.  If I have a listener who has been connected for close to a day, I kick their IP address.  This can happen for a variety of reasons having nothing to do with a listener.  I haven't yet personally run into a situation where a particular IP address continually comes up as a problem.

One thing to keep in mind - your Sound Exchange royalties are based on U.S. Listeners, not foreign listeners, so you can be a bit more lenient with people listening outside the U.S.

acostivalt

• We want real radio!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2016, 12:29:32 PM »
I have my streaming server set to kick them automatically after 6 hours. This way I don't accumulate ATH from people that mute and minimize their player.

wsimkins

• Streaming Guru
  • Administrator
  • Streaming Pioneer
    • View Profile
    • ProStreaming
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2016, 12:51:30 PM »